Sustainability Advisory Panel

Chaired by Sam Mostyn AO, our Sustainability Advisory Panel has three external members who were selected based on the range of skills and expertise we considered necessary to shape and inform a pioneering sustainability agenda.
Sustainability Advisory Panel Sam Mostyn

Sam Mostyn AO (Australia), Non-Executive Director Sustainability Adviser, and Advisory Panel Chair

Sam Mostyn is a non-executive director and sustainability adviser, with an extensive history of executive and governance roles across business, policy, sustainability, and climate change. Sam is the Chair of the Australian Federal Government's Women's Economic Equality Taskforce. She serves on the Mirvac board with a broad portfolio of other roles including chairing ANROWS, Ausfilm, the Foundation for Young Australians, and the Australian Climate Council. Sam's past roles include President of Chief Executive Women, chairing Citi Australia and the NSW Government's Women's Economic Opportunities Review.

Sam serves on the Australian faculty of the Cambridge University Business & Sustainability Leadership Program. In 2018, Sam was awarded an Honorary Doctorate of Laws by the Australian National University, in recognition of her work as a pioneer of gender inclusion and equity, and leadership in sustainability and climate change. Sam was made an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) in 2021 for her contribution to business, sustainability, community and women and named Winner – Outstanding Individual, in the Investor Group on Climate Change 2019 Climate Awards.

Sustainability Advisory Panel Tim Jackson.

Professor Tim Jackson (United Kingdom), Professor of Sustainable Development, University of Surrey, Director of the Centre for the Understanding of Sustainable Prosperity

Tim Jackson is Director of the Centre for the Understanding of Sustainable Prosperity (CUSP), and Professor of Sustainable Development at the University of Surrey in the UK. CUSP builds on Tim's vision over three decades to explore the moral, economic and social dimensions of prosperity on a finite planet. He's advised numerous governments and UN agencies on sustainability. Between 2004 and 2011, Tim was Economics Commissioner on the UK Sustainable Development Commission, where his work culminated in the publication of his controversial book Prosperity without Growth (Routledge 2009/2017). In 2016, he was awarded the Hillary Laureate for exceptional international leadership. In addition to his academic work, Tim is an award-winning dramatist with numerous radio-writing credits for the BBC.

Sustainability Advisory Panel member Matteo Mirolo.

Matteo Mirolo, Head of Contrail Policy and Strategy at Breakthrough Energy and Senior Policy Advisor, Arcadia eFuels 

Matteo Mirolo is an expert in climate and energy policy, on a mission to help make aviation sustainable. At Breakthrough Energy, a climate foundation founded by Bill Gates, he is working to scale up contrail avoidance, in an effort to significantly reduce the non-CO₂ impacts of aviation. He is also policy lead at Arcadia eFuels, a company planning to scale-up e-kerosene production. In this role, he works with governments to foster industrial strategies conducive to a significant increase in sustainable aviation fuel (SAF) availability. Matteo is also a reserve Captain in the French Air Force, where he works on SAF. Matteo honed his expertise at Transport & Environment, the EU's leading clean transport NGO, where he led the sustainable aviation work and helped bring the world's largest SAF mandate, ReFuelEU Aviation, into EU law. Matteo is a French and Italian national and is based in Brussels. He holds a BA and MA in Human Social and Political Sciences from the University of Cambridge.

Sam Mostyn image courtesy of Alina Gozin'a; Matteo Mirolo image courtesy of Matteo Mirolo